Learning to be vegan…

I am learning to be vegan…

Not content with learning to run I have also decided to change my diet. There are many reasons why people choose a vegan diet including ethical, environmental and health considerations. My health is the main driver for me trying a vegan diet, but the ethical and environmental concerns are also driving this change. I know that eating mustard makes me very ill, but there seems to be other things that I eat that upset my body – causing pain and fatigue. I have given up meat, chocolate and wheat at various times in the past, and felt better for it, but I have never stopped eating eggs and dairy before. I have been contemplating a vegan diet for a while but it took my husband to set us on the path to change! His interest means that we can become a vegan household and I’m not having to do it alone.

A friend had recommended Deliciously Ella – a blog and cookbook written by Ella Woodward– a few months ago. Ella has PoTS (postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome) and has used food and diet to help her control her symptoms. It has been a great place to get inspiration, and recipes.

The meal I have found the most challenging to make vegan is breakfast. I was addicted to Greek yoghurt and homemade granola. Until a fortnight ago I’d eaten almost it every day for the past two years. I thought that porridge may be a good alternative but I don’t enjoy the texture, so I’ve been experimenting with making a yoghurt substitute and this morning’s breakfast worked quite well.

I soaked a third of a cup of porridge oats and 4 brazil nuts in water overnight. This morning I discarded the water, then whizzed the oats and nuts together in a blender along with a tablespoon of coconut cream and a couple of peaches to make a thick smoothie – the consistency of yoghurt. It wasn’t a great colour but with a portion of granola and a handful of blueberries on top it made a tasty breakfast.


I think that I will try a blend of oats, brazil nuts and coconut cream tomorrow, and put the fruit on top. It might look more appetising! I’ll let you know how I get on.

Leave a Reply

